Travel Packing Tips

Seeing as how it’s the holiday weekend and everyone out there is traveling, here are some tips to make your vacation better:

• Constantly check the airlines, car rental and hotels for lower prices. If you call them, they will give you that lower price.
• Pre-baggie all of your electronics and liquids for security. That way, when you get there, they are all ready to just pull out of your bag.
• Bring an empty reusable water bottle with you. You can fill it up with water or water after you pass inspection and have  it for the trip!
• I don’t know about you, but I like to write a list of everything I need for the vacation in a list, separated by both checked baggage and carry-on. I then mark it off as I pack it away, so I know I have it and what I’m missing for the trip.
• Get the most out of your luggage space by rolling your clothes.
• Create your own fun luggage tag. It’s easy to spot and it’s unique to you. I recently created one that says “Weee!” I thought it would be fun to see a suitcase go around the carousel saying that. One other funny saying that I saw was: “Why does it seem like the first piece of luggage out on the carousel belongs to no one?” So true!!
• Whenever you get to your destination, make your first stop Costco or Target/Walmart. This way you can get everything you need to begin with and don’t have to worry about it later. TIP: Water bottles come in great use here if you don’t bring your own reusable one.
• I could take my own advice here, but you don’t need 4 pairs of shorts, 4 pants and 20 tops. Start with packing a few shorts and pants/skirts that match most of your wardrobe.
• Print out your boarding pass & baggage ahead of time. Soo much faster as you can use the automated machine and just hand the attendant your bags.
• The only liquids I ever really bring on the plan are hand sanitizer and lotion.
• If you want to wear sandals to the airport and don’t want to stand on the germ-infested carpet, bring a pair of socks and keep them within reach, so that when you go through security you can just swap sandals with socks.
• Most airlines don’t give passengers blankets or pillows on the flight due to H1N1. If you get cold easily like me, bring a cheap fold-up blanket and sweatshirt on the plane.
• Make it easy on yourself and just don’t wear jewelry to the airport.
• Some airports do have free WiFi, so check it out!
• If you book airline seats ahead of time and you aren’t sitting next to your friend/spouse/partner/boyfriend/girlfriend/(did I cover them all?  :), continuously check the airlines up to a day before your flight to see if there are any seats together. (There usually are.)
• Look up a few restaurants or attractions ahead of time on Yelp and Trip Advisor. That way if you need something in the area, you know the quality and location right away.

That’s all I can think of for now. Have a safe trip!

Leave a Reply

